Felician Wins 2019 CACC Women's X-C Team Sportsmanship Award

Women's Cross-Country Wins CACC Team Sportsmanship Award

(courtesy Doug DeBiase, CACC Associate Commissioner)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Felician University on Wednesday was named the 2019 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Women's Cross Country Anne Jackson Memorial Team Sportsmanship Award winner, as announced by Commissioner Dan Mara. The voting for the award was done by the league's 14 head coaches in the sport.

The voting illustrated the coaches' belief that Head Coach Elson Smajlaj's squad demonstrated outstanding class, character and sportsmanship throughout the 2019 season. The announcement comes just days prior to the start of the 2019 CACC Women's Cross Country Championship, which will be held on Sunday at 10 a.m., at Belmont Plateau in Philadelphia, Pa. Smajlaj'sprogram will be presented with a plaque honoring its accomplishment during the post-race awards ceremony.

Felician wins the award for the first time in women's cross-country. Its program was founded in 2000.

The award is named in honor of former Nyack College women's cross country standout, Anne Jackson, who passed away on Nov. 17, 2010, shortly after competing in the 2010 CACC Championship. The award was re-named in her honor, as it symbolizes the courage, strength, sportsmanship and commitment to life she demonstrated on a daily basis. Her parents, Dr. Gordon and Cindy Jackson, will be on hand this Sunday to present the award to Felician, as they have taken part in the awards ceremony for the last several years.

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 14 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Concordia (N.Y.) College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University), Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.