Langan Wins Fourth Consecutive CACC Coach Of Year Award

Langan Wins Fourth Consecutive CACC Coach Of Year Award

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Felician University head coach Chris Langan was voted the 2019 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) Baseball Coach of the Year, according to balloting released by the CACC on Tuesday. The voting was performed by the sports information directors of the league's 12 baseball-playing members. Langan earns the honor for the fourth consecutive year.

After the Golden Falcons were chosen for second place in the CACC South Division in the league's 2019 Preseason Coaches' Poll, Langan guided Felician (30-21) to its fourth consecutive league or division regular-season championship. The Golden Falcons tied a program record with a nine-game winning streak and finished regular-season conference play with a 24-8 won-lost record. That mark was just one game behind its pace of a year ago, and three games better than Wilmington (Del.) University and Chestnut Hill College, who tied for second place in the CACC South.

On May 1, Felician won both ends of a doubleheader from the University of the Sciences to reach 30 wins for the fourth consecutive season and fifth in the last six. Langan and the Golden Falcons lost 10 seniors, including two all-Americans, off its 2018 squad that finished as the runner-up in the CACC Championship tournament.

"Nothing has changed – this is very humbling, and I was honored to have heard the news," Langan said. "We are fortunate to have many coaches in the CACC that do things the right way. I'm very thankful that the SIDs saw fit to recognize me."

Langan owns a 410-390 won-lost record in 16 years at Felician. He is 232-131 (.639) in regular-season CACC play, including 85-21 (.802) over the last four years. Under his watch, the Golden Falcons have captured two league championships (2014, 2016) and five regular-season crowns. In addition to his CACC honors, Langan was the New Jersey Collegiate Baseball Association Coach of the Year in 2014 and was a Golden Falcons assistant when Steve Svenson claimed both of those awards in 2002.

"I appreciate all the hard work our staff and players have put in to make this recognition possible," Langan said. "Without the recent success of the program, especially in conference play, this just doesn't happen. I'm also very thankful to my family, and to everyone around the program that gives us endless support."

Felician was eliminated from the 2019 CACC Championship tournament during last Saturday's play-in round and must wait until May 12 to learn if it has been selected for an at-large NCAA Tournament berth.

The only Felician coach to win more CACC Coach-of-the-Year awards than Langan is John Brennan, who captured six in men's cross-country, including four in a row (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011).

The complete 2019 All-CACC Baseball Teams and special award winners can be viewed at   



2003 – Chris Reardon, Caldwell

2004 – Brian Callahan, NJIT

2005 – Brian Callahan, NJIT

2006 – Matt Belford, Bloomfield

2007 – Chris Reardon, Caldwell

2008 – Mark Heineman, Philadelphia

2009 – Rick Giannetti, Dominican

2010 – Brian August, Wilmington

2011 – Frank Angeloni, USciences

2012 – Matt Cornacchione, Nyack

2013 – Craig Everett, Concordia

2014 – Matt Cornacchione, Nyack

2015 – Brian August, Wilmington

2016 – Chris Langan, Felician

2017 – Chris Langan, Felician

2018 – Chris Langan, Felician

2019 – Chris Langan, Felician