Onyeaka Named Capital One Academic All-District

Onyeaka Named Capital One Academic All-District

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Felician College sophomore Keleenna Onyeaka (Birmingham, England/Solihull Sixth Form College) has been voted to the Capital One Academic All-District Men's Soccer First Team for District I in NCAA Division II, as coordinated and selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Onyeaka, as a First Team selection, will move on to represent Felician on the Division II Capital One Academic All-America® ballot. He is the first Golden Falcon men's soccer player in six years to be named CoSIDA Academic All-District. Mariano Gonzalez was the first Felician student-athlete to ever claim the award, earning Second Team honors in 2006.

A list of all Felician student-athletes to win CoSIDA Academic-All-District accolades can be viewed at http://www.felicianathletics.com/information/Ac-A-A.  

In 2012, Onyeaka, a 6-foot-3 defender, started all 17 games for Felician (5-10-2 overall, 4-5-2 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference). From the center back position, he led the Golden Falcons in goals (4) and points (8), and was a key component as all five of Felician's victories came by 1-0 scores.

A 2011 graduate of The Sixth Form College in Solihull, England, Onyeaka is a two-year starter for Felician and was named First-Team All-CACC as a freshman. He carries a 3.91 grade-point average while majoring in accounting.  

CoSIDA's District I for NCAA Division II is comprised of all members of the CACC, East Coast Conference, and Northeast-10 Conference. The entire set of 2012 Capital One Academic All-District Men's Soccer Teams can be viewed at http://cosida.com/media/documents/2012/11/Mens_Soccer_2012_Academic_All_District_Teams.pdf.


2012 Capital One Academic All-District

Men's Soccer, District 1, NCAA Division II

Pos. Name YR School
GK Marco Jorgensen JR LIU Post
M Vinny Caccavale JR NYIT
M Pedro De Araujo SR Dominican
M Chris George JR Saint Michael's
D Austin Britt GR Southern New Hampshire
D Christoffer Olesen JR Bridgeport
D Keleenna Onyeaka SO Felician
D Weston Zeiner SR Bentley
F Eivind Austboe SO LIU Post
F Joe Baccielo JR Post
F Jordan Branco SR Southern New Hampshire