Obery Voted To East All-Region Squad

Obery Voted To East All-Region Squad

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Felician College senior Antoine Obery (Roselle, N.J./Abraham Clark) has been named to the 2012-13 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men's Basketball East All-Region Second Team, according to balloting released today. The voting was conducted by sports information directors from institutions and conference offices throughout the region.

Obery is the third all-region performer in Felician men's basketball history, joining Michael Pierrot (2006-07) and Devon Young (2010-11). On this year's teams, he was one of only two winners from the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference. CACC Player of the Year Garret Kerr from the University of the Sciences was chosen to the First Team.

In the 2012-13 academic year, Obery is the third all-region performer in any sport for Felician, joining cross-country runners Rob Albano and Taylor Trumbetti.

"I'm so happy for Antoine," said fourth-year Felician head coach David DeFerrari. "To come back from two knee operations and then perform at such a high level is quite remarkable. We would not have had the success we had and reached the league playoffs without him. He truly deserves this honor."

A 6-foot-4, 210-pound forward/guard, Obery started all 27 games for the Golden Falcons this season, and averaged 18.9 points, 10.4 rebounds, and 2.7 assists. He ranks third in the CACC in both scoring and rebounding, and fourth in field-goal percentage (.552). On Feb. 2, he tied a Felician record with 39 points and added 21 rebounds in a victory at Goldey-Beacom College.

Obery will graduate as Felician's all-time leading rebounder with 848. His 1,414 points rank third on the school career scoring list.

The Division II East Region consists of the CACC, East Coast Conference, and Northeast-10 Conference. In total, 39 teams are encompassed.

Felician (12-15, 9-9 CACC) finished fourth in the CACC North Division. The Golden Falcons qualified for the CACC playoffs for the fourth time in the last five years, bowing out in the quarterfinals to Holy Family University.

The All-Region men's basketball teams are sponsored by Daktronics, an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing, and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.



First Team
Tobin Carberry, SR, LIU Post
Eric Jean-Guillaume, SR, Franklin Pierce
Garret Kerr, SO, USciences
Dominykas Milka, JR, Saint Rose
Akeem Williams, JR, UMass Lowell

Second Team
Ellis Cooper, JR, Franklin Pierce
Darian David, SR, Bridgeport
Trevon Hamlet, SR, Southern Connecticut State
Roy Mabrey, SO, Saint Anselm
Antoine Obery, SR, Felician
Dion Walters, SR, Bridgeport