Caccavale, LaMura Elected To CoSIDA Academic All-District Team

Caccavale, LaMura Elected To CoSIDA Academic All-District Team

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Felician University student-athletes Ralph Caccavale (Massapequa, N.Y./Plainedge) and Andrew LaMura (Brick, N.J./Red Bank Catholic) have been voted to the 2016 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District Baseball Team for District 1 in NCAA Division II. Members of CoSIDA coordinate and select the team.

As Academic All-District selections, Caccavale and LaMura will move on to represent Felician on the Division II CoSIDA Academic All-America® ballot.

Caccavale, a junior second baseman, and LaMura, a junior outfielder, are Academic All-District selections for the first time. They are the 20th and 21st Golden Falcons to earn the honor at least once, including the third and fourth in baseball.

A list of all Felician student-athletes to ever win CoSIDA Academic-All-District accolades can be viewed at

Caccavale has started all 47 games for Felician. He is batting .273 with seven doubles, two triples, 30 runs scored, and 22 runs batted in. He has stolen 10 bases and posted a .340 on-base percentage. Caccavale, who is a 2012 graduate of Plainedge High, owns a 3.63 cumulative grade-point average as a criminal justice major.

LaMura is in the top five in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) in several offensive categories, including hits (68), runs scored (42) and RBI (46). He is hitting .352 with 12 doubles, two triples, six home runs and a slugging percentage of .528. LaMura carries a 3.73 GPA in secondary education/history. He is a 2013 graduate of Red Bank Catholic.

Caccavale and LaMura have helped lead Felician (29-18) to the CACC regular-season championship and a No. 4 regional ranking by the NCAA Division II Baseball Committee. The Golden Falcons are the top seed for the CACC Tournament, and will open postseason play on Thu., May 12 in New Castle, Del.

CoSIDA's District 1 for NCAA Division II is comprised of all members of the CACC, East Coast Conference, and Northeast-10 Conference. The entire set of 2016 CoSIDA All-District Baseball Teams can be accessed at


2016 CoSIDA Academic All-District Baseball Team
Division II, District 1

P-Tanner Bird, Franklin Pierce
P-Dylan Mouzakes, Pace
C-T.J. Riccio, New Haven
IF-Justin Brock, Franklin Pierce
IF-Ralph Caccavale, Felician
IF-Robert Vani, Adelphi
IF-Jack Jagaja, New Haven
OF-Rocky Ferrier, Wilmington (Del.)
OF-John Kukura, Pace
OF-Andrew LaMura, Felician
DH-Matt Brown, Merrimack