Brill Headlines Four Consensus All-Region Baseball Choices

Aaron Brill, shown here receiving his CACC Player of the Year award, earned the same honor from the Daktronics D-II All-East Region program.
Aaron Brill, shown here receiving his CACC Player of the Year award, earned the same honor from the Daktronics D-II All-East Region program.

RUTHERFORD, N.J. – Felician College placed four players on all three recognized NCAA Division II All-East Region teams, according to balloting released late last week. Headlining the Golden Falcon quartet was senior shortstop Aaron Brill (West Palm Beach, Fla./John I. Leonard), who was voted the Daktronics Regional Player of the Year and to the Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Gold Glove Second Team.

The Daktronics teams, coordinated and voted upon by regional members of the College Sports Information Directors of America, were publicized along with the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association squads and the ABCA honorees within a 24-hour period last Thursday and Friday. Two Felician players, Brill and junior pitcher Jerry Vasto (Atlantic Highlands, N.J./Henry Hudson Regional) were consensus first-team selections.

Two other Golden Falcons – sophomore first-baseman Scott De Jong (North Haledon, N.J./Eastern Christian) and senior outfielder Joe Petosa (Spotswood, N.J./Spotswood) – qualified for two First Teams and one Second Team. Details can be viewed in the chart below.

Felician set program records for wins and winning percentage with a won-lost record of 30-20. The Golden Falcons won their first Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) championship, and advanced to their initial NCAA East Regional Tournament, where they eliminated defending champion Franklin Pierce University before bowing out in fourth place.

Brill, who was also the Player of the Year in the CACC, is the second Regional Player of the Year for Felician. First-baseman Frank Quintana was so honored in 2007, also by the Daktronics program. In 2014, Brill established school records with 11 triples and a 22-game hitting streak, and set a Felician wood-bat standard with 74 hits. In 50 games, while batting predominantly in the No. 2 position in the line-up, Brill hit .363 with 22 extra-base hits, including a grand slam, 47 runs scored, 33 runs batted in and 13 stolen bases.

Defensively, Brill's 147 assists are second in Felician single-season annals to his 150 in 2013, and lead the CACC. He committed no errors in this season's 20 conference games, and completed the season with 13 errors and a .941 fielding percentage while being involved in 23 double plays. Brill is the first Golden Falcon to ever win a Gold Glove from the Rawlings/ABCA program.

"Aaron was our quarterback – everything we did on offense and defense worked through or around him," said 11th-year Golden Falcon head coach Chris Langan. "He plays at such a high level on both sides of the ball and never lets one phase of the game surpass the other in his preparation."

Brill racked up 144 hits in two years at Felician, and 213 for his overall collegiate career. He is a two-time first-team all-region honoree and a two-time CACC All-Tournament selection.

Vasto was voted the CACC Pitcher of the Year and to the CACC All-Tournament team while setting the Felician single-season record for strikeouts (79). The left-hander put up a 6-3 record, a save, and an earned-run average of 1.84 while allowing 53 hits and 29 walks in 68 1/3 innings. He crafted a late-season 27-inning scoreless streak that began with a three-hit shutout against nationally-ranked Wilmington (Del.) University on Apr. 14. He is all-region for the first time.

De Jong topped the East Region with 51 RBI, and also led the CACC in home runs (7-tie), walks (30), and slugging percentage (.610). He hit .374 with 26 extra-base hits, 45 runs and 10 steals en route to first-team all-CACC honors. He was picked for the all-tournament team of both the CACC and East Regional championships.

Petosa is all-region for the second time after being voted to his fourth All-CACC honor. He leaves Felician as the program's all-time leader in hits (225), walks (91) and triples (19), and was a Capital One Academic All-American in 2012. Petosa was named to the all-East Region Tournament team and as the Most Valuable Player of the CACC Tournament.

All members of each First Team advance to the national ballot for the respective organization's All-America squad.

Felician totaled five all-region student-athletes in the 2013-14 academic year.

The NCAA Division II East Region consists of the CACC, East Coast Conference and Northeast-10 Conference, totaling 33 schools.


2014 Division II All-East Region Baseball Teams
  Daktronics (SIDs) NCBWA (Writers) Rawlings/ABCA (Coaches)
1st Team      
1B Zach Collett, New Haven Scott De Jong, Felician Scott De Jong, Felician
2B Andrew Abreu, Dowling Andrew Abreu, Dowling Nick Baviello, SCSU
3B Frank Crinella, Merrimack Frank Crinella, Merrimack Frank Crinella, Merrimack
SS Aaron Brill, Felician Aaron Brill, Felician Aaron Brill, Felician
IF     Brendon Buckley, New Haven
C Matt Lopes, Wilmington Matt Walsh, FPU Matt Walsh, FPU
OF Cliff Brantley, Adelphi Cliff Brantley, Adelphi Cliff Brantley, Adelphi
OF John Cruz, Dowling Rich Baerga, STAC Rich Baerga, STAC
OF   Brendan O'Brien, SNHU Brendan O'Brien, SNHU
OF Joe Petosa, Felician   Joe Petosa, Felician
P Tyler Badamo, Dowling Tyler Badamo, Dowling Tyler Badamo, Dowling
P Rocco Cundari, SCSU Rocco Cundari, SCSU Derrick Sylvester, SNHU
P Jerry Vasto, Felician Jerry Vasto, Felician Jerry Vasto, Felician
P Jamie Treml, Wilmington   Jim Duff, Stonehill
RP Benjamin Criscuolo, SNHU Benjamin Criscuolo, SNHU Benjamin Criscuolo, SNHU
DH Derek Hirsch, STAC Richard Mejia, Adelphi Richard Mejia, Adelphi
UT-P Frank Samluk, Wilmington Brendon Buckley, New Haven  
UT-NP Richard Mejia, Adelphi    
2nd Team      
1B Scott De Jong, Felician Zach Collett, New Haven Zach Collett, New Haven
2B Mike Apreda, STAC Nick Baviello, SCSU Andrew Abreu, Dowling
3B Tom Tolan, LIU Post Tom Tolan, LIU Post Josh Hampton, Wilmington
SS Stanley Susaña, STAC Stanley Susaña, STAC Josh Swirchak, Wilmington
IF     J.C. Brandmaier, Dowling
C Matt Walsh, FPU Matt Lopes, Wilmington Matt Lopes, Wilmington
OF John Kennedy, Nyack John Kennedy, Nyack John Kennedy, Nyack
OF Rich Baerga, STAC Joe Petosa, Felician Calvin Graves, FPU
OF Brendan O'Brien, SNHU John Cruz, Dowling John Cruz, Dowling
OF     Sam Goines, Wilmington
P Tom Bammann, Dowling Jamie Treml, Wilmington Jamie Treml, Wilmington
P Derrick Sylvester, SNHU Derrick Sylvester, SNHU Rocco Cundari, SCSU
P Jim Duff, Stonehill Jim Duff, Stonehill Zach Soulier, Stonehill
P Connor Gleason, FPU   Connor Gleason, FPU
RP Tyler Fries, Wilmington Tyler Fries, Wilmington Armand Rugel, Stonehill
DH Ken McCormick, Philadelphia Derek Hirsch, STAC Derek Hirsch, STAC
UT-P Brendon Buckley, New Haven Frank Samluk, Wilmington  
UT-NP J.C. Brandmaier, Dowling    
Hon. Men.      
1B   Kenny Kirshner, STAC  
2B   John Sczepanski, Philadelphia  
3B   Josh Hampton, Wilmington  
SS   Will Brennan, Bentley  
OF   Matt Burns, SCSU  
OF   Calvin Graves, FPU  
UT-NP   J.C. Brandmaier, Dowling  
P   Don Crook, Post  
P   Connor Gleason, FPU  
P   Brian O'Keefe, Bridgeport  
RP   C.J. Ferriggi, STAC  
Player of Yr. Aaron Brill, SR, Felician Frank Crinella, SO, Merrimack Frank Crinella, SO, Merrimack
Pitcher of Yr. Tyler Badamo, SR, Dowling Tyler Badamo, SR, Dowling Tyler Badamo, SR, Dowling
Rookie of Yr.     Benjamin Criscuolo, FR, SNHU
Coach of Year   Scott Loiseau, SNHU